December 31, 2020

LAWT News Service


Senator Steven Bradford (D-Gardena) has been elected as Chair of the California Legislative Black Caucus (CLBC). The Caucus has had over a 50-year legacy of advocating for transformative legislation on behalf of African Americans and other marginalized people in California.

Senator Bradford was elected to the legislature in 2009 making him the longest serving member of the Caucus and currently the only black senator in the state senate. He also serves as Chair of the Senate Committee on Public Safety and Chair of the Select Committee on the Status of Boys and Men of Color. 

Previously serving as Vice-Chair of the CLBC, Senator Bradford accepted his elevated role after former Caucus chair, and Assemblymember, Dr. Shirley Weber was appointed as Secretary of State by Governor Newsom.

Her confirmation to the position fills the vacancy, which will be left by Secretary Alex Padilla upon his appointment as the next United States Senator from California. 

“I am humbled and honored to accept the role as Chair of the California Legislative Black Caucus,” said Senator Bradford.

“Dr. Weber leaves behind an incredible legacy. She has been a bastion of progress when it comes to social justice, education, criminal justice reform, and equity for people of color. With the support of my colleagues, I intend to continue and build upon the successes she achieved while serving as chair.

We will be tackling issues such as the massively disproportional effect of COVID-19 on black Californians, establishing a more transparent and accountable police system, enhancing economic opportunity through social equity programs, protecting the state’s ratepayers from unfair energy policies, supporting our formerly incarcerated with rehabilitative programs, pursuing representation in all forms of government and so much more.

I look forward to all that we will accomplish together and remain committed to making California a more prosperous, diverse, and equitable state for all Californians.”

The Executive Board will also include: Vice-Chair, Assembly­member Kamlager (AD 54); Secretary, Assemblymember Kevin McCarty (AD 7); and Treasurer, Assemblymember Jim Cooper (AD 9).

For more information on the CLBC’s history, mission, and agenda, please visit the caucus website at:

Category: News