June 06, 2013

LAWT Staff Report


George Dotson has been involved in numerous civic activities in Inglewood since 1968.  As councilman for the first district, he aims to bring new ideas and positive solutions to the problems in Inglewood. 

As a businessman for 40 years and chairman of the Planning and Zoning Commission for over 20 years, Dotson worked to bring about more economic development to the city of Inglewood. 

“I want the first district residents to have better representation and [I want to] provide a positive environment for you to become more involved in your city government,” said Dotson.

“As you know, I have always been concerned about the progress of our city.  I believe there are workable solutions available that will enhance the positive growth of this great city.”

Dotson has mounted an aggressive campaign fueled with the powerful endorsements of a bevy of elected officials for the June 11 election.

The list of individuals who endorse Dotson’s campaign include: Congresswoman Maxine Waters, Isadore Hall, California State Assembly; Steven Bradford, California State Assembly; Jerome Horton, Chairman Board of Equalization; Mark-Ridley-Thomas, L.A. County Board of Supervisors; Lee Baca, L.A. County Sheriff; James T. Butts, mayor, city of Inglewood; Bernard Parks, councilman, Los Angeles City Council; Curren Price, councilman, Los Angeles City Council; Eloy Morales, Jr. Councilman, Inglewood City Council; Ralph Franklin, councilman, Inglewood City Council; Virgil Benson, former councilman, Inglewood City Council; Wanda Brown, treasurer, city of Inglewood; Jacqueline Seabrooks, former chief, Inglewood Police Department; Alicia Smith, co-chair, Inglewood Citizens Police Oversight Commission; Willie Agee, chairman, Inglewood Parks and Recreation Commission;  Dr. Kenneth C. Ulmer, Inglewood area community leader; Dr. Cecil ‘Chip’ Murray, retired pastor, First AME Church; Dr. L.D. Williams, pastor, Baptist Church of the New Convenant; Dr. Austin Williams, pastor, True Vine Baptist Church; Dr. Charles Blake, presiding bishop, West Angeles Church of God in Christ; Dr. Johnny J. Young, presiding bishop Church of God Pentecostal; Arnold Butler, past president, IUSD Board of Education; Trina Williams, past president, IUSD Board of Education; Alice Grigsby, past president, IUSD Board of Education; Carliss Richardson-McGhee, president IUSD Advisory Board; Carolyn Wilders, Inglewood Preparatory School; Inglewood Women of Vision Inglewood, Police Officers Association, Inglewood Police Management Association and Los Angeles County Firefighters, Local 1014.

Category: Community